The Board of Directors consists of dedicated community members who advance the mission and vision of LSYC.


Members featured above from left to right include Penny Mayer (Parent Representative), Gina Bortnem, Kelly Roeser (Secretary), Marilyn Odean (Treasurer), Chris McMahon, Jenna Kelly (Executive Director), and Jennifer Stone.


Members not present include Sheila Shusterich, Ryan Kern (President), Joey DeVlieger (Vice-President), Lindsay Kern, and Bret Amundson (Artistic Director).

For more information on the LSYC Board of Directors, please contact the Executive Director, Jenna Kelly, at


Marilyn Odean, President

Whiteside Institute for Clinical Research



Marilyn has a long history with the organization, now in it’s 26th year.  She was an important part of the organization’s incorporation in 2005 and is invaluable in helping to manage fiduciary developments for the organization.

Jennifer Stone, Vice-President

Hallmark Business Connections

Account Manager

Jennifer holds strengths in moderating and providing leadership among board members.  She has strong ties to the parent community of the Lake Superior Youth Chorus, and represents the community of Superior, WI.

Kelly Roeser, Secretary 

North Shore Bank of Commerce

Mortgage Operations


Kelly’s dedication to the Lake Superior Youth Chorus began as an active parent volunteer and uniform coordinator. While impressed with the caliber of choral education, it was witnessing singers’ enthusiasm, discipline, and standards of excellence that impressed Kelly the most. Her goal is to extend LSYC involvement past graduation and foster a renewed alumni relationship.

Chris McMahon, Treasurer

St. Michael's Catholic Church

Parish Administrator


Chris is an organization administrator and brings non-profit experience to the table.  He is strategic with our mission and has deep connections to the community in the area of law and administration.

Gina Bortnem, Member



Gina comes to Lake Superior Youth Chorus with a strong background in arts administration, previously working as Executive Director for what is now known as The Fargo-Moorhead Youth Choir. She played a large part in the unity of the two choirs that now make up this non-profit arts organization.

Joey DeVlieger, Member

Essentia Health



Joey is a parent of two choral artists in the Lake Superior Youth Chorus’ resident choir program.  He was drawn to this organization by the intentionality it has to develop both community and leadership within the students through such a high caliber music platform.He is a doctor of physical therapy practicing in Duluth, MN and brings to the Lake Superior Youth Chorus a systematic, objective approach to future growth and sustainability.

Ryan Kern, Member

Kern and Kompany Special Events



Ryan is responsible for creating, promoting and producing some of Minnesota’s largest and most unique events including the award winning and nationally recognized Duluth Airshow drawing over 50,000 spectators, the Duluth Drag Races & Car Show, which is the only legalized drag racing event held on a public street in the entire United States, and Duluth Oktoberfestival coming to Bayfront Festival Park in September of 2019. Ryan and his wife Lindsay have two daughters involved in the Lake Superior Youth Chorus Resident Choral Program.

Sheila Shusterich, Member

Ordean East Middle School

Choir Director


Sheila K. Shusterich is a music educator currently teaching middle school choir 6-7-8 at Ordean East in Duluth. Mrs. Shusterich has collaborated with the Lake Superior Youth Chorus and their guest artists in the past (Sowah Mensah concert in 2009). Sheila encourages singers to become part of the program and has selected students to participate in the Lake Superior Youth Chorus Honor Choir program for the past five years.

Penny Mayer, Member

Barnum School District

Early Childhood Educator


Penny joins the board as our parent representative and is eager to provide her perspective on reaching low-income families and valuing our mission of inclusivity.